St. Joseph Health System
Download iPhone App Visit our YouTube Channel Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Print    Email

New Parent Education


New, Improved, and FREE!

Call 979-731-1231 to register.

At St. Joseph, we know that bringing a baby home is a time of great excitement and responsibility.  That is why we are proud to serve new parents in the Brazos Valley by providing education and support from pregnancy through the birth of your child. Give your baby a healthy start by attending our new parent education courses and return to our hospital for the hightest quality care before, during, and after childbirth.

Breastfeeding Course
This course teaches techniques to assist expectant mothers and fathers with skills needed to make breastfeeding easier. Basic anatomy and physiology of the breast, positions for mother and baby while breastfeeding, getting started, and milk supply and demand are all discussed.

6:00 - 9:00 pm

Wednesday, October 14 Wednesday, November 11 Wednesday, December 9
Wednesday, January 13 Wednesday, February 10 Wednesday, March 9


Prepared Childbirth Course
This course prepares parents-to-be for the arrival of the baby by teaching them the physical process and stages of labor, comfort measures, body mechanics, pain management, breathing and relaxation techniques.  A tour of Labor & Delivery will be held at the end of class.  Please select a childbirth course that ends approximately 4 weeks before your baby is due. Wear comfortable clothing and bring 2 pillows for floor exercises.

9:00 am - 4:00 pm (one-hour break during Saturday course)

Saturday, October 24 November (no class scheduled) Saturday, December 12
Saturday, January 23 Saturday, February 27 Saturday, March 5



Newborn Care
This course teaches techniques to assist a mother and one additional caregiver with skills needed to make infant care easier. Feeding patterns, comfort strategies, homes safety, diapering and more are discussed in this informative course.

 6:00 - 9:00 pm

Wednesday, October 21 Tuesday, November 3 Wednesday, December 16
Wednesday, January 20 Wednesday, February 17 Wednesday, March 23


Infant CPR
This American Heart Association course is designed for family members and friends who care for infants and want to learn basic infant CPR and choking rescue. This course is not to be taken if course completion card is required. If the 6:00 pm course is full, you may be placed in the 7:00 pm course. Please call for availability.

6:00 - 7:00 pm or 7:00 - 8:00 pm

Thursday, October 15 Tuesday, November 17 (12 - 1 pm) Thursday, December 10
Thursday, January 28 Thursday, February 25 Thursday, March 31

Course Location:  St. Joseph Professional Office Building in Bryan
2700 East 29th Street, Suite #140 Classroom
(Located between the Emergency Room and Parking Garage)


© 2015 St. Joseph Health System, Bryan, Texas   |   979-776-3777   |   Employee Email Access
A Ministry of Sylvania Franciscan Health